We are proud to be supported by leading explorers who share our commitment to expeditions as a platform for exceptional youth development. From Pen Hadow’s record as the first person to trek solo to the Pole, to Ed Stafford’s Guinness World Record for the first full length walk of the Amazon it is impossible not to be inspired by our patrons' achievements.

Patron-in-Chief HRH The Duke of York, KG

We are fortunate to receive the support of our Patron-in-Chief HRH The Duke of York, KG. The Duke of York is a full-time working member of the Royal Family, and is sixth in line to the throne. HRH carries out official engagements in support of Her Majesty The Queen, and works to promote economic growth and skilled job creation in the United Kingdom, focusing on education and skills, entrepreneurship, science, technology and engineering.

As well as British Exploring, The Duke of York supports a significant range of not-for-profit and charitable organisations in both the United Kingdom and overseas. HRH also advocates our partnership work with other youth development and adventure organisations like Outward Bound and Jubilee Sailing Trust of which he is Chairman and Patron respectively.

Bear Grylls

- Survival and outdoor adventurer

With countless books and television series under his belt, Bear has become a household name, but it is his expeditions including summiting Everest and crossing the North Atlantic that blow us away.

Speaking kindly on British Exploring, Bear has said that "British Exploring gives those young people with a dream the chance to explore some of the world's most remote regions. With that exploration, I have found, so often comes a sense of pride and achievement - and that is the real magic of British Exploring. It builds the champions and explorers of the future"

Some of our Honorary Member s and Patrons

Sir David Attenborough | Tom Avery | Colonel John Blashford Snell | Sir Christian Bonington | Sir Richard Branson | Conrad Dickinson | Robin Hanbury-Tenison | Paul Rose | Sir David King | Sir Christopher Ondaatje | Borge Ousland | Prof David Rhind | Nigel de N Winser | Robert Swan