Our 2019 Expedition Season Award Winners

By Rebecca Bloomfield,
Marketing & Digital Coordinator

This month, we celebrated our Young Explorers and Leaders at our annual Celebration Evening, hosted at the Royal Geographical Society in London. The evening is a reminder of all the hard work our volunteer professional Leaders put in to helping us run successful expeditions. It also provides us with a chance to acknowledge the young people who have been on expedition with us and give them the opportunity to share their stories.


Each year, we award The Les Morgan Memorial Award to a Young Explorer who has shown exceptional initiative or leadership in adverse circumstances on expedition. The Award is made on the recommendation of the expedition Chief Leader and judged by the CEO. This year’s winner is Young Explorer Leon, Amazon 2019.

“Leon stood out as exceptional for two reasons. The first is the way in which Leon’s potential, hidden by timidity at the Training Weekend, blossomed so quickly – he really did become a different person in the jungle. The second reason I am nominating Leon is because of the support he offered the rest of his Fire. He gave generously of his time and energy, no task too small or beneath him; always the success of the group and the welfare of individuals at the centre of his activities.”



The winners of our Leader Awards were also announced. Recipients are nominated and shortlisted by fellow Leaders and members of the British Exploring Society team with the final Awards being made by a judging panel, who look to honour spirit and skills.


Watson Emerging Leader of the Year Award in memory of Jean Sinclair
is designed to recognise and reward emerging talent, or to identify new, additional or more senior leadership actions on the part of a Leader who may have worked with us for some time. This year’s winner is Joanna McLaughlin Media Leader, Canadian Yukon 2019.

“Joey approached the role of Media Leader with a clear vision of helping young people express themselves and understand the cultural and historical significance of the Yukon territory… She approached the role with care, passion and throughout the expedition demonstrated her ability as a Leader.”




The Les Morgan Leader of the Year Award
is to identify and celebrate consistent excellence in any area of Leadership, or to recognise an individual who has supported and helped develop their fellow Leaders, providing guidance and direction for them as well as for Explorers in preparation for and throughout their expedition experiences. This year’s winner is Chloe Moul Senior Social Leader, Dangoor Next Generation 2019.

“…Chloe exemplified the behaviour, attitudes and values of a great expedition Leader, utilising her vast youth experience and knowledge to absolutely nail every interaction with the [Young Explorers], sometimes at their most challenging time…”



Additionally, we’d like to welcome our two new Fellows, who also happen to be British Exploring Society staff: Caroline Hodges, Head of Expeditions and Strategic Operations, and James Dyer, Expedition Training and Leadership Advisor.